The NXT UK Tag Team Championship: A Brief History and Overview

The NXT UK Tag Team Championship, introduced in 2018, is one of the most prominent titles in professional wrestling today. This prestigious title is contested by some of the best tag teams in the world, and has seen some exciting battles between formidable duos.

Here is a brief history and overview of the NXT UK Tag Team Championship.

The Inception

The NXT UK Tag Team Championship was first introduced at the NXT UK tapings on June 18, 2018. The inaugural champions were crowned at NXT UK TakeOver: Blackpool, in a match between Moustache Mountain (Trent Seven and Tyler Bate) and Grizzled Young Veterans (Zack Gibson and James Drake).

The Reigning Champions

As of August 2021, Pretty Deadly (Lewis Howley and Sam Stoker) are the reigning NXT UK Tag Team Champions. The young duo won the title at NXT UK’s “Superstar Spectacle” event on January 26, 2021, defeating the formidable team of Gallus (Mark Coffey and Wolfgang).

Notable Title Reigns

Several teams have held the NXT UK Tag Team Championship and have made an indelible mark on the title’s history. Some of the most notable title reigns include:

– Moustache Mountain: After being crowned the inaugural champions, Moustache Mountain had several successful title defenses, cementing their place in the championship’s history.
– Grizzled Young Veterans: This notorious duo held the title for a record 197 days, showcasing their dominance in the division.
– Gallus: The Scottish trio of Joe Coffey, Mark Coffey, and Wolfgang held the tag team titles for 98 days, proving to be a formidable force in the NXT UK tag team division.

The Future

With NXT UK’s growing popularity and the influx of new and exciting talent, the future of the NXT UK Tag Team Championship seems bright. As more teams vie for the gold, fans can expect to see some epic battles for the championship.


The NXT UK Tag Team Championship is a highly coveted title in professional wrestling today. With its rich history and notable champions, the championship has earned its place as one of the most prestigious titles in the world. As the division continues to grow and evolve, fans can expect to see some exciting and memorable matches for this coveted championship.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top